Cancer · Joy · Life · Single Mom · Sorrow · Trials · Trusting God · Widow

Better Is One Day….

Lately I have been listening to older worship songs. Most of them from the late 90s and early 2000s, not sure if that’s me holding on to my youth now that I’m 30 or what haha, but either way, that’s what I’ve been doing.

One of the songs that really stuck out to me was Better Is One Day (the version that was recently playing was Charlie Hall)… the chorus goes:

Better is one day in Your courts
Better is one day in Your house
Better is one day in Your courts
Than thousands elsewhere
Better is one day in Your courts
Better is one day in Your house
Better is one day in Your courts
Than thousands elsewhere
With the 3 month of Jeff’s passing yesterday & hearing this song along with others that talk about Heaven, it has been on my heart…  When I hear this song, I think of huge mansions on the most gorgeous beach (my happy place), the most delicious foods and drinks, puppies and dogs everywhere, friends and family laughing and playing sports and games, and simply relaxing with praises to God going on everywhere! Sounds pretty awesome to me! And what this song (which pulls from Psalm 84:10) is saying is that even my best fantasy of a perfect place could not compare to the awe and wonder we will see in Heaven! I cannot wait to get there one day, though I know my time on earth is not yet complete, until the Lord calls me home. With whatever time I have left here on earth, I am to be living out a life that glorifies God! This time here is so short, a blip in time compared to eternity with Christ in Heaven… so why not make the best of the time here?
These months have been hard, but a huge source of peace in my life comes from knowing there is a much greater place waiting for me, a place that Jeff is enjoying right now! He’s in the presence of the Almighty God, the Risen Savior! I’m a bit jealous, but my time will come! Oh until the day to see the Heaven we sing about! Better is one day… and I will one day get eternity there!!
God Bless,
-A
Leave a Reply

